Home / Feros Stories / Aged care terminology explained

Aged care terminology explained

English as a language can be puzzling at the best of times but when it’s peppered with acronyms and jargon, what can you do? Well, read on and we’ll help sort out the common terms used in the aged care sector to help you understand what’s what.

ACAS – Aged Care Assessment Service (ACAT equivalent in Victoria)

ACAT – Aged Care Assessment Team (assesses people for eligibility for HCPs and residential aged care and comprises different types of healthcare professionals). Find out how to organise an ACAT assessment.

Basic Daily Fee – the Government allows service providers to charge a daily fee but this is added to your budget and boosts what you can spend on aged care. Learn more about aged care fees and charges.

CALD – Culturally And Linguistically Diverse (from a non-English speaking, non-Australian background)

CDC – Consumer Directed Care (CDC allows you and your carer more control over the design and delivery of the services you receive)

CHSP – Commonwealth Home Support Program (for eligible people aged 65-plus and Aboriginal and or Torres Strait Islander people who are 50 years and over). Read more about the CHSP, including eligibility for the scheme and available services.

CIS – Complaints Investigation Scheme (agency that investigates residential aged care complaints)

COTA – Council on The Ageing (peak national organisation representing the rights, needs and interests of older Australians)

DoHA – Department of Health and Ageing (Federal Government)

HCP – Home Care Package (a government-subsidised group of services to support you long-term so you can remain living in your own home). Learn more about HCPs, including the four different levels of Home Care Packages, home care costs and eligibility.

ITF – Income Tested Fee (if your income is above a certain amount, you must pay an ITF determined by Centrelink; the government subsidy you receive for care is reduced by the same amount). Find out more about income tested care fee.

MAC – My Aged Care (government portal for the My Aged Care website – www.myagedcare.gov.au – and My Aged Care contact centre 1800 200 422). Read more about My Aged Care, including how to register and get started.

NAPS – National Approved Provider System (DoHA system holds details of providers and their services)

NSAF – National Screening Assessment Form (government form for screening and assessment for aged care eligibility)

RAS – Regional Assessment Service (assessors who visit you at home to assess which services you can use under the CHSP)

Respite care – (also known as short-term care) gives the carer a break from their caring role and the person being cared for a break from their usual care arrangements). Find out more about our residential respite care services, suitability and eligibility.

Share this story 
Ask a Feros Care expert
Who would you like to talk to?
Disability Support expert 9am - 4pm (AEST) Monday to Friday